First F&F patient

s0hMood > *cocky*

This week, I’d seen my first ‘friends and family’ patient. It’s my first non-dental patient. All this while, we practise clinical work on each other and though we do get lots of free procedures done, I won’t exactly say it’s fun. Well, I have to admit the experiences are pretty valuable because through that, I know how it feels like to get my teeth scaled, an impression taken, getting a fluoride treatment and injections on the palate and through layers and layers of tissue – be it good or bad. While a good experience helps a lot, bad ones aren’t necessary all bad because as a patient, you then realise what a pain in the ass it is to get an insensitive dentist, which is what we all dent students should try to avoid.

My experimental guinea pig

Chian Ur is my first patient. At first I thought it will be kind of awkward as we are told to be professional. Don’t know about the rest, but I thought I’ll put on a really big act – try to be like extra polite to the patient, communicate a lot etc. But as the procedure starts, it flows so well that I surprised myself. Words came out so naturally and I just could not believe it. And all this while I thought I’m kind of a shit communicator. With that being said though, it’s not to say I’m totally brilliant either. I’m just okay la – did better than I expected and my patient claimed the experience was better than she expected too (and I wonder what was SHE expecting. Maybe a jab here and there?). There’s still lots of room for improvement and I know it very well. Just hope I can learn as much as I can before seeing real patients (as in strangers who genuinely come in for check-up or treatment).

The setting: Dental Hospital

So first of all, I have to ask her a few questions then proceed to checking her extraoral features. I was to palpate her facial features to check for any abnormalities la. I reached just under the chin around the neck region to check the submandibular lymph nodes. My patient suddenly jumps up lightly, shrieking sharply and shocked me in the process. Praise the lord I wasn’t holding any sharp instruments. So I laughed it off and proceed again and I was barely touching the skin, didn’t even get to feel anything, she cried ahhh and pushed my hands away. My tutor eyed me suspiciously. Chian, you wanna ‘hoi’ me is it???? Tsk tsk tsk. So I kept touching it again and again. Lol.

Chian’s radiopraghs

After like 20 minutes or so, I finally completed the long process of checking her teeth, which would have cost 50 bucks, you ungrateful Chian =). She has 8(s) so I suggested to take some bitewings. And so I did took 4. It’s my first time taking radiographs on a real person. Ever. It hurts a little. Chian laa, she has shallow palate and the film doesn’t fit nicely. Lol. Yala yala, my technique is bad. My first time maaa, what do you expect wor? And again, it would have cost you more money. Since it’s free, you have to compromise the quality a bit la. It sounds like my patient is quite difficult eh? Haha, actually no la, she’s a very good patient. Thank you so much for lending me your mouth. You sacrifice it for the sake of my knowledge. Wahh, super ‘wai dai’. Such a big heart horrr… Actually I bet she just want to get free treatment *grins*. So I scheduled her for more treatment and we’ll see how it goes next time around.

Yinan, Jovi and me
2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    yuen said,

    lol. sounds fun to treat your friend for the first time, but also quite scary to be treated by a dental student. your friend was really brave 😀

    i wander how will i feel when i finally have my first patient..hm…

  2. 2

    s0hp0h said,

    hehe it’ll be fun!!! extra fun – especially if u happen to have a grudge against ur patient..lol


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

