Al-naturale

s0hMood > *tired*

Had my first natural tooth lab session today. Making it the first time I drilled and restored a real tooth. Albeit a dead one, but still, at least it has enamel and dentine (didn’t go deep enough to see the pulp, thank goodness) rather than a blob of plastic with self-imagined caries. No more smelling burnt plastic. But plastic does have an advantage in a way that I can actually place a wedge properly instead of having the WHOLE freaking wedge just pass through the contact point in the natural arch. It was funny though. Plus plastic teeth are cleaner la, I mean God knows what kind of disease those extracted tooth, or the person it belonged to specifically, had right? They did indeed stopped using natural teeth in dental school because it can potentially spread mad-cow disease or something. And I quote one of our lovable tutor’s comment, “…which is just rubbish”. HAHA. Sibeh straight forward.

And so I placed composite resin on a tooth with MO and ML cusp cap, wow, the colour matched so SO well. And I didn’t even use a shade guide. I love love loveeeeee resins. Best material ever. The actual restoration ain’t superb or anything la, but just having the CR blend gao gao with the tooth makes me happy. I cannot actually see where it is! I have always been quite worried about doing anterior restorations in real patients cause scared colour don’t match ma. Now I think it should be quite easy ba. Well, hopefully la.

Then did the second restoration and I wanted to do a pinned amalgam since my real patient needs one. I figured since it’s my first time, I really could use some practise so that when the patient asks, have you done this before, then I can just shrugged it off with a confident, “Of course!!” and add silently, just not with an alive pulp nia. But at least I’ve done it once on a natural tooth ma, haha. So I managed to finish the restoration and glad to say I think I’ve improved in terms of carving skills. At least now it doesn’t have deficient margins. Or so I think. I quite like the end result, plus the tutor (super cincai one) said it is really good =). Though deep in my heart, I know it ain’t that great la, but still, the superficial me liked the compliment very much, wahaha. Now we shall wait and see what happens when the real patient comes…

Oh and during the session, I wasn’t paying attention to the bottle which collects water from my ‘Ah Sim‘ (Jolene, 2006). So then it overflowed…. And seeped out around to my shoes, and it managed to form a tiny pool before Jovi alerted me and so I have to become the part time cleaner. Sien. Everything in the lab is self-service. But I actually enjoyed it to be honest cos they have this fancy mopping bucket that I’ve never used before hahaaaa~ Pedal that moves the rollers to squeeze water out of the mop. I want one!!! So what if I don’t actually use a mop at home, I use it to ‘bai leng’ can boh? Haha. Kla, enough crap d. I want to watch ‘So you think you can dance‘ d, bye!

p/s Saw this blog readability test from here, and so I tried, guess what I got =P

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

blog readability test

-.-“”””””””””””””””” At least I’m on par with kennysia.com ROFL. You know ur’s is higher than me so stop LOL-ing and shuddup Pseudo!!!! Maybe now I should start peppering sentences with jargon like, I’m giving school a miss tomorrow because of this self-diagnosed malaise associated with facial athromyalgia (learnt from DLP today) aka temporomandibular joint disorder aka myofacial pain disorder (note that these terms cannot be used interchangeably until further notice by DW in upcoming lectures – now this time asdf, cannot guess who’s DW lehhhhh HAHAHAHAHA).

Leave a Reply

